how do you cut open a plastic barrel?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by meganwf, Jun 13, 2009.

1. meganwf

meganwf Well-Known Member

Have 55 gal plastic barrel and have a drill to make the holes on the side I need for the pig watering attachment but um... embarrassed to ask... how do I cut open / off the lid? (Can you tell I'm new at this??)

2. Wis Bang

Wis Bang Well-Known Member

3. gone-a-milkin

gone-a-milkin Well-Known Member Supporter

Drill a hole to start and then use a jigsaw or a sawzall to cut around.

4. Windy in Kansas

Windy in Kansas In Remembrance

A handsaw will also cut them but isn't easy and it is hard on the saw and will dull it.

As already mentioned a reciprocating saw is probably the best tool.

BTW, if your barrel is like mine it might be best to cut in the proper area for most strength.

Where the side of the barrel tapers to its smallest area near the top I expect it then flares back out. If you cut above the smallest area you will cut into an area that has more material, hence stronger. It does take more cutting effort to cut there however. Cut too high and you might cut above the actual lid portion.

5. CIW

CIW Well-Known Member

I have had good luck cutting them with a skill saw. I use them for watering horses.

6. highlands

highlands Walter Jeffries Staff Member Supporter

We use a skilsaw. One person holds the barrel horizontally on the ground, rotating it slowly and the other person cuts the barrel with the skilsaw holding the saw basically still. A table saw might work too. A sawsal works but doesn't give as nice a cut.

The plastic also drills out right nice.

Work safely.

7. 65284

65284 Well-Known Member Supporter

A sharp keyhole saw will do a nice neat job. Not quite as easy as a powered saw but not dauntingly difficult. Why are you cutting off the lid? Easy to fill through the bung, unless you have to fill it with a bucket.

8. agmantoo

agmantoo agmantoo Supporter