Bull Rental Agreement

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by pfettig77, Jan 10, 2017.

1. pfettig77

pfettig77 Well-Known Member

I've decided to rent out my bull until I need him in July, and I was wondering if any of you have a rental agreement form you could share. Advice (i.e. money and conditions) would also be helpful.
    I'm renting him out really just because if I keep him around here I have to keep 2 herds to avoid my young heifers from getting bred. I'm just learning rotational grazing and I think two herds just makes things that much more complicated. Plus winter chores have to be doubled. It seems to me that having someone else feed and care for him would be good deal for me - almost regardless of what I charge.

2. Gravytrain

Gravytrain Well-Known Member

I wouldn't charge anything. For me, as long as he immunizes and has clean, suitable facilities...his feeding him over the winter and eliminating my hassle would be payment enough. The contract should state, however, that if anything happens to the bull, they will owe you $x for your loss. Be sure to establish "x".

I do wonder if you'll have any takers that want fall calves in northern WI.

pfettig77 likes this.

3. pfettig77

I was wondering the same thing, but I got an email a few hours after the post from a lady who is very interested and it sounds like they have a nice little operation. I was thinking about not charging or at least very little. Maybe $100 and I'll take my wife out to eat.

4. Hitch

Hitch Well-Known Member

I have a friend who's family owns a small cattle ranch. What they do is barter for the use of their bull. They've found it more beneficial to use the bull in trade for things like home repairs, excavating, etc.

pfettig77 likes this.
  5. Empire

Empire Well-Known Member