Allow goats to eat pine needles, boughs, etc?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by jad44, Jul 15, 2008.

1. jad44

jad44 Well-Known Member

I'm very new at raising goats. I got them to clean up weeds, and have a host of weeds growing in my windbreak - but the limbs of the white pine and other pine (evergreen) trees hang so low, that they eat those needles - is this a practice to allow? I have not turned them in there yet, but plan to put up an electric fence to keep them under the trees - great place to eat and be in shade at the same time. Please advise; I know goats eat anything, but how much pine needles can they handle? What they've reached from where they are, the tree is bare.

thanks !

2. AnnaS

AnnaS Well-Known Member

Some pine needles/sticks/bark won't hurt them at all. My goats relish all pines. Pine does contain phenol and some other slightly toxic components, so obviously you wouldn't want to make pine their entire roughage ration.

Goats will also peel off pine bark and kill the tree. I have a mix of dead, debarked jackpines and chicken-wire-wrapped live white pines in my windbreak. :)

3. Scrounger

Scrounger Well-Known Member

Thankfully, goats DO eat pine and Cedar trees. They grow like weeds here. SOMETHING needs to kill them.....

I have photos of mine resting IN the trees about 2 feet off the ground. They have "cleaned up" several of the cedars I have in the barn yard.

4. QoTL

QoTL Thinking up a great tag

My goats love pine needles. Kinda like candy lol! We only have 2 evergreens on our property, so they don't get to touch them, but my dad is always clearing brush at his place, so I haul those back with me.

5. Alice In TX/MO

Alice In TX/MO More dharma, less drama. Supporter

Goats can be picky sometimes, too. :)

Allow only a moderate amount of anything new. For example, don't change them 100% from hay to pine needles all at once. Making a change gradually can prevent digestive distress.

6. kerrinatoz

kerrinatoz Well-Known Member